RebKell's Junkie Boards
Board Junkies Forums

Who uses Advil?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    RebKell's Junkie Boards Forum Index » Area 51
View previous topic :: View next topic  
jammerbirdi

PostPosted: 12/27/21 3:21 pm    ::: Who uses Advil? Reply Reply with quote

I’m new to pain. What are people’s familiarity and experiences with Advil? How do people who are older feel about taking it? Has anyone taken it for more than two days? Etc. Please and thank you.

PostPosted: 12/27/21 5:18 pm    ::: Reply Reply with quote

Advil (known generically as ibuprofen) has done me a lot of good for simple headaches, or pains from a simple bump/bruise condition. I'd certainly feel free to use it for several days in a row for, say, a sprained ankle but....that's ME. Try it and see...? *I* certainly feel it's effective. (....and the generic is identical, imo)

PostPosted: 12/27/21 6:09 pm    ::: Reply Reply with quote

Thank you! Is it something you've taken over the years?

PostPosted: 12/27/21 6:48 pm    ::: Reply Reply with quote

jammerbirdi wrote:
Thank you! Is it something you've taken over the years?

Yes, for many years.

PostPosted: 12/27/21 7:29 pm    ::: Reply Reply with quote

I find the ibuprofen family more effective for me than the acetaminophen family.

PostPosted: 12/27/21 7:41 pm    ::: Reply Reply with quote

You don't need me to tell you this, but you can do a lot better internet research than asking for anecdotal stories on Area 51 of a WBB board.

But since you asked . . .

I have taken both ibuprofen and acetaminophen in high doses for long periods of time for unrelenting low back and hip pains. I hate to, I try to avoid it as much as possible, but sometimes I just have to get a little relief in order to get off my back and walk.

Both relieve pain -- not very much for mine -- but ibuprofen is better for reducing inflammation.