RebKell's Junkie Boards
Board Junkies Forums

Calling All Fans (Help on a grad paper)!

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Tally24

PostPosted: 04/05/21 9:23 pm    ::: Calling All Fans (Help on a grad paper)! Reply Reply with quote

Hello, wonderful posters of Rebkell. I am currently an English PhD student at LSU. I am working on a paper for a political rhetoric class, and I am focusing on the WNBA and the activism of players (mostly during the 2020 season, but also from prior seasons).

I am attaching a link to my proposal, which is not necessary to read, but is there just in case you are curious. https://docs.google.com/document/d/1DoEb8idJ02OELoAF9PZ2XQ7Q52CIyd9D/edit

I was hoping to get posters to answer a few questions and share any sources that might be of use for my paper. Also, feel free to take a stab at any of the research questions I pose in my proposal! Wink

1. When did you become a fan of the league? What was that experience like; how did it happen?

2. When did you notice the shift in marketing that embraced queer fans, rather than ignored them? What triggered this shift?

3. There is a source that mentions a kiss-in organized by Liberty fans in 2002. I found a few articles talking about it, but I want more. I know we have life-long Liberty fans here (Queenie, I am looking at you) and I was hoping to get a more through account.

4. How did you feel about the activism of the WNBA players during the 2020 season? Do you think their physical location contributed to the success they had, if you think they did succeed?

I have a lot more that I am curious about, but I am on a pretty tight deadline. I would really appreciate any and all participation because it is likely that this becomes a publishable piece. If you feel more comfortable discussing these things in a more private setting, shoot me a PM. My email is tshoem3@lsu.edu if that is your preferred method of contact.

Thanks in advance to anyone who partakes, I really appreciate it.
Queenie