RebKell's Junkie Boards
Board Junkies Forums

Becky Hammon commercial

Post new topic   Reply to topic    RebKell's Junkie Boards Forum Index » NCAA Women's Basketball - General Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
tfan

PostPosted: 07/21/17 7:43 pm    ::: Becky Hammon commercial Reply Reply with quote

There is a commercial that I can't find now, where Becky Hammon says that when she applied for colleges she was told she was too slow or too small. Is it typical for colleges to turn down recruits by telling them their shortcomings, giving them a reason why they don't want them?

SDHoops

PostPosted: 07/21/17 11:04 pm    ::: Reply Reply with quote

As a former HS coach, I had the opportunity to interact with some college coaches from the juco all the way to the D1 level via text, in person, on phone, e-mail, etc. Only two coaches offered a true evaluation of the player..one coach just broke the player's game down and said, "this is what you need to work on if you want to play at this level." But..for the most part, coaches gassed up players on what they did well. I'd imagine with Beck, maybe she wanted to go somewhere like Tennessee, Stanford, Louisiana Tech, etc. at the time, whom were the teams of the early 90's.

SDHoops

PostPosted: 07/21/17 11:06 pm    ::: Reply Reply with quote

I'd imagine if the college coaches reached out to the player(s), then they'd probably do everything in their power to try and get them. If the player reaches out to the college coaches, which i've also experienced, usually there's no response at all or the classic, "our scholarships are filled."

tfan

PostPosted: 07/21/17 11:44 pm    ::: Reply Reply with quote

SDHoops wrote:
I'd imagine if the college coaches reached out to the player(s), then they'd probably do everything in their power to try and get them. If the player reaches out to the college coaches, which i've also experienced, usually there's no response at all or the classic, "our scholarships are filled."